Short drive this morning

I got home this morning and decided to take the truck for a little ride to get the feel for driving it. I cranked it up to let it warm up while I checked the tire pressures and a did quick walk around.

I know I woke the neighbors going up the driveway when I passed their houses winding  her out in 2nd gear!

I took off down the road grinding gears.  I heard a belt squeal and looked down at the volt gauge – it was pegged, do I turned the power switch off so it would de energize the alternator. I went about 5 miles and turned off on another road. I downshifted and did a little grinding. At about 45mph, it had a pretty good shimmy.  Under or over, it was fine. I got to the end of that road and pulled out onto another road. I shifted pretty good that time. I switched the power switch back on and it went to green so I left it on. Then I came to the highway. I pulled onto the highway and shifted perfect (and fast) this time! I got her up to about 48mph and kept it steady – running great!

After about 5 miles on the highway, it was time to turn again. I pulled off from the light and shifted perfect again. Had to downshift for the railroad track – a little grinding (forgot where 3rd was). Got to the end of that road and turned back on my street – perfect shifts again. Checked the volt gauge – it was between yellow and green, so  I left it alone. About 3/4 mile I downshifted to turn in my drive – no grinding this time!

I got to the house and backed up to a parking spot. The parking brake held it there! I got out, chocked the front tire and looked around while the turbo cooled down. I noticed a fuel leak under the ip that I’ll have to check out before I take it to the body shop. I shut her down for the day. Pretty good first drive – I might be addicted!

Leave a comment